So What’s My Gear?

My first true “Smartphone” was a Motorola Q phone with a thumb keyboard running the Microsoft Windows Mobile 5.0 OS. At the time I really loved it, since I could download my work and personal email via a cellular network connection. The phone was also quite thin, which was nice since I normally carry my phone in my front pants pocket.

I used this Moto-Q phone successfully for about 2 years, however, I did have severe iPhone envy. My Moto-Q didn’t have a touchscreen, so everything was controlled by using hard physical buttons. I also didn’t have a GPS receiver in the phone so I couldn’t make use of Google Maps or any navigation app for guiding me around a new city while on business travel. The web browser was really limited, only able to render the basic content from a web site.

When the Palm Pre was announced, I kept a close eye on it anxiously awaiting its release. From the specs and descriptions it seemed to be a superior smartphone. I wasn’t a big fan of the slider-style phones, so I held off buying a Palm Pre since there were rumors of a “candy bar”-style phone in the works for Palm. When the Palm Pixi was finally released, I decided to get it to replace my Moto-Q dinosaur phone. I do have to say I have not been disappointed with my decision.

So here I am, Palm WebOS app developer carrying around a Palm Pixi smartphone as his primary cell phone, and loving every minute of it!

About webosdev

Mobile Devices Developer, specializing in creating apps for the Palm WebOS devices.
This entry was posted in Pixi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

