Got an iPad Today

With Mother’s Day just around the corner, I decided to get my wife an iPad as a gift (what a great husband!). Fortunately, Apple just released the iPad WiFi-3G models yesterday, so I stopped by my local Apple Store this morning to see what was available.

If you’ve never visited an Apple Store, it’s quite an experience. Lots of customers jammed in large room filled with Macbooks, iPhones, iPods, and now, iPads. In fact, there were lots of iPads on display, a lot of them displacing the Macbooks that normally where there. It was clear that Apple was really pushing the iPad devices.

The best thing about the Apple Store is all the helpful workers there, all wearing bright colored orange and blue shirts for easy identification. I simply found the nearest orange-clad person, asked for an iPad, and I was in business. It seemed that all the 16 GB and 64 GB models of the iPad 3G were sold out, but they did have a limited supply of 32 GB models available (which is what I preferred). So, I whipped out my credit card, made my purchase, and away I went.

I asked about their return policy (in case my wife didn’t like the iPad) and they said I can return it within 14 days with a 10% restocking fee.

This was the first time I’d seen an iPad device in person, and it is actually much smaller that I expected from seeing the pictures in reviews. Smaller is actually a good thing, since you don’t want it too big so that it isn’t very portable. The iPad I played around with was very quick, and the screen resolution looked great.

So I hope my wife likes her fancy gift for Mother’s Day. Of course, getting her an iPad will certainly grease the skids for me to get one too!

About webosdev

Mobile Devices Developer, specializing in creating apps for the Palm WebOS devices.
This entry was posted in Apple, iPad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

