HTC EVO to arrive at my home tomorrow

No, I didn’t jump ship and get the Sprint HTC EVO… but my wife did. She has been using a Sprint Blackberry phone for the last year and ordered the EVO last week. Why did she do that? She stated that after using the iPad’s swipe-tap gesture interface she wanted a phone that had the same operating feel. If the iPhone was available with Sprint, she would have switched to that, but because the iPhone isn’t available on the Sprint network she went with the EVO.

She excluded the Palm Pre because of several factors:

  • The HTC EVO has the latest hardware technology
  • The Android OS is very similar to the iPhone OS (and WebOS)
  • The Palm Pre’s screen was a bit too small for her taste
  • The EVO was $199 with a $100 Rebate offer, costing her only $99
  • With such ambiguous statements from HP’s CEO with regards to their dedication to the smartphone market, my wife decided to not jump into the Palm Pre/Pixi realm

Personally, I think the EVO is a BIG phone, a little too big for my use. But, I won’t know for sure until I see one in person. Hopefully, my wife will like the Android OS (but, I think she’ll find it somewhat different than the iPad or iPhone/iTouch).

For myself, I’m hoping Palm/HP/Sprint continues to sell new WebOS phones in the near future, with faster processors, slightly bigger screens, and more features. And throw in a WebOS Tablet while you’re at it! 🙂

About webosdev

Mobile Devices Developer, specializing in creating apps for the Palm WebOS devices.
This entry was posted in EVO, iPad, WebOS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

